In 2007, the EURASIP Administrative Committee (AdCom) initiated a “Fellowship Programme”, to recognize outstanding achievements of its members and volunteers. Each year, a select group of signal processing researchers are elevated to ‘EURASIP Fellow’, the Association’s most prestigious honor.

The deadline for nominations is October 31st of each year. To download the nomination form, click here. Nominations should be submitted to the EURASIP Director for Awards by e-mail.


Marco Di Renzo
For contributions to theoretical and signal processing advances in wireless communication systems and networks, notably spatial and index modulation, and reconfigurable and holographic surfaces

Martin Haardt
For contributions to multi-user MIMO communications and tensor-based signal processing

Daniel Palomar
For contributions to optimization theory and algorithms with applications in communication systems and finance

Gerhard P. Fettweis
For Contributions to Digital Signal Processing for Wireless Communication Systems


Patrice Abry

For contributions to scale-free temporal and spatial dynamics modelling and analysis in signals and images

John Thompson

For signal processing advances in multiple antenna and relayed wireless communication systems

Dimitri Van de Ville

For contributions to biomedical image and signal processing and application to functional brain imaging

Abdelhak Zoubir

For contributions to the theory and practice of statistical methods for signal processing


Touradj Ebrahimi

For contributions to multimedia signal processing in image and video coding standardization, media security and multimedia quality of experience

Jean-Christophe Pesquet

For contributions in optimization methods for signal and image processing

Ana Isabel Pérez Neira 

For contributions to signal processing for satellite and wireless communication systems


Mérouane Debbah

For contributions to the theory and design of wireless networks

Mario Figueiredo

For contributions to optimization algorithms for sparsity-based and wavelet-based signal processing

Walter Kellermann

For contributions to the theory and practice of acoustic signal processing

Jean-Philippe Thiran

For contributions in signal processing and medical image analysis


Visa Koivunen

For contributions to multisensor and statistical signal processing

Stephen McLaughlin

For contributions to statistical signal processing in computational imaging and communications

Moe Win

For contributions to the theory and practice of cooperative localization


Josiane Zerubia

For contributions to stochastic modelling for signal and image processing in remote sensing

Rachid Deriche

For contributions to computational brain imaging

Lieven De Lathauwer

For contributions to tensor-based signal processing

Ali H. Sayed

For contributions to adaptation and learning theories


Rémi Gribonval

For contributions to the theory and applications of sparse signal processing and machine learning

Franz Hlawatsch

For contributions to time-frequency signal processing and statistical signal processing

Marc Moonen

For contributions to signal processing for communications, speech and audio applications

Antonio Ortega

For contributions to image and video compression and graph signal processing


Pierre Comon

For contributions to independent component analysis, source separation and tensor decompositions, with applications to digital communications, health and environment

Yonina Eldar

For contributions to Sub-Nyquist and Compressed Sampling, Convex Optimization and Statistical Signal Processing

Aggelos Katsaggelos

For contributions to the Fields of Image and Video Processing

Béatrice Pesquet-Popescu

For contributions to the theory and practice of image and video compression and networking


Petar M. Djurić

For contributions to the Theory and Practice of Bayesian Signal Processing

Geert Leus

For contributions to Signal Processing for Communications

Michael Davies

For contributions to Sparse Representations in Signal Processing and Compressed Sensing

Paulo S. R. Diniz

For contributions to Digital Signal Processing, Adaptive Filtering, and Communications


Moeness Amin

For contributions to Signal Processing for Radar and Satellite Navigation

Sergio Barbarossa

For contributions to Signal Processing for Radar Remote Sensing, Sensor and Communication Networks

Dirk Slock

For contributions to adaptive filtering and signal processing for communications

Peter Vary

For contributions to wireless speech- and audio-communications


Nikolaos Sidiropoulos

For contributions to tensor decomposition and signal processing for communications

Alle-Jan van der Veen

For contributions to array signal processing applied to communications and radio astronomy

Miguel Lagunas

For contributions in the application of multi-antenna signal processing techniques to satellite systems

Karlheinz Brandenburg

For contributions to perceptual audio coding


Ioannis Pitas

For contributions in digital media watermarking, nonlinear signal and image processing and human-centered computing

Christian Jutten

For pioneering contributions to independent component analysis and source separation

Johann F. Böhme

For contributions to statistical signal processing

Fernando Pereira

For contributions to digital video representation technologies and standards


Jaakko Astola

For contributions to signal, image and video processing

Ingrid Daubechies

For contributions to the theory and applications of the wavelet transform

Jelena Kovačević

For contributions to the theory and applications of wavelet-based coding

Eric Moulines

For contributions to statistical signal processing and applications to speech analysis


Helmut Bölcskei

For contributions to MIMO wireless communications

Jean-Francois Cardoso

For contributions to blind source separation, higher-order statistics, array processing, and performance analysis

Lajos Hanzo

For advances in signal processing for adaptive modulation, turbo decoding and synchronisation for wireless cellular systems

Sergios Theodoridis

For Advances in Adaptive Algorithms for Signal Processing and Machine Learning


Petros Maragos

National Technical University of Athens, Greece

For contributions to morphological signal processing and nonlinear systems with applications in computer vision, image processing, speech and language processing, multimedia and cognitive systems

Alfonso Farina

SELEX Sistemi Integrati, Italy

For contributions to radar system design, signal, data and image processing, data fusion and particularly for the development of innovative algorithms for deployment into practical radar systems

Stéphane Mallat

Ecole Polytechnique, France

For contributions to wavelets, multi-scale and time-frequency signal processing techniques for the encoding and de-noising of images


Patrick Flandrin

CNRS ENS Lyon, France

For contributions to time-frequency and non-stationary signal analysis

Josef Kittler

University of Surrey, Guildford, UK

For contributions to pattern recognition, image processing and computer vision

Michael Unser

EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

For contributions to biomedical imaging and spline-based signal analysis

Joos Vandewalle

K.U.Leuven, Belgium

For contributions to mathematical methods for signal processing and machine learning


Pierre Duhamel

LSS/CNRS, Gif sur Yvette, France

Georgios Giannakis

University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, USA

Bernd Girod

Stanford University, Stanford, USA

Björn Ottersten

Royal Institute of Technology (KTH), Stockholm, Sweden


Peter Grant

University of Edinburgh, Edinburgh, UK

Wolfgang Mecklenbraeuker

Vienna University of Technology, Vienna, Austria

Peter Stoica

Uppsala University, Uppsala Sweden

Martin Vetterli

Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland